University Council on Diversity


Jump to: Sub-Committees  |  Members

The University Council on Diversity (UCD) is the visioning group of senior campus leaders responsible for assisting in advancing campus diversity initiatives.  IWU 2020 outlined a new organizational structure for the UCD which included two categories of sub-committees: educating for diversity (faculty committee on diversity, co-curricular advisory committee, and intercultural fluency committee) and creating an inclusive environment (campus climate assessment committee, policy and protocol review committee, and diversity leadership team). 


UCD Sub-Committees

Faculty Committee on Diversity 

The FCD is charged with identifying and communicating strategies for infusing diversity into the curriculum and classroom, in order to create a more inclusive experience for all students and to prepare them for life in a global society. The focus of the FCD is on discovering and sharing related curricular resources, areas for collaboration, faculty development opportunities and assessment strategies. 

Co-Curricular Advisory Committee 

The focus of this sub-committee is to meet with those directors and coordinators who work most closely with cultural and affinity-based RSOs. The goal is to offer streamlining and structure to students as they organize large-scale events and seek to offer programming and support to their student peers.

Intercultural Fluency Committee

Focus is on faculty and staff development of knowledge, skills and abilities for educating and serving a diverse community.

Council for Inclusion and Awareness

Focus is to gather all cultural and identity based RSO leadership in one space to discuss shared goals and challenges and to facilitate meaning communications and collaborations.

Campus Climate Assessment Committee 

Charge is to assess the campus climate for target populations. Membership includes students, faculty, and staff. Chaired by the Assistant Vice President for Institutional Research, Planning and Evaluation.

Policy and Protocol Review Committee 

Charge is to review policy and reporting regarding incidents related to diversity and intolerance (including Title IX, Bias Incident, etc.) 

Diversity Leadership Team 

Leadership group consisting of the leaders of all diversity- related RSOs, Senate, athletics, Greek life, multicultural educators, engaging diversity and RHA. This team of students helps the Dean of Students keep her finger on the pulse of campus diversity issues and is available to other committees for feedback.


University Council on Diversity Leadership Team

The UCD is agroup of senior campus leaders who are tasked with streamlining diversity and inclusion efforts at IWU.

Mark Brodl


Co-chair for the UCD committee - convenes meetings and serves as a liaison to the larger campus community.

Karla Carney-Hall

Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Co-chair for the UCD committee - convenes meetings and serves as a liaison to the larger campus community.

Sharla Brown-Ajayi

Interim Director, Office of  Diversity and Inclusion

Co-chair for the Co-Cultural Adivsory Committee; Co-chair for the Council for Inclusion and Awareness

Michael Thompson

Associate Vice President for Institutional Research, Planning and Evaluation

Chair, Campus Climate Assessment Committee

Cindy Lotz

Director of Human Resources and Title IX Coordinator


Monica Corsaro

Interim Chaplain


Lynda Duke

Interim Associate Dean of Students


LeAnn Hughes

Vice President of Enrollment and Marketing


Kristen Buhrmann

Web Content Specialist


Jack McElveen

Student, Class of 2022

Student Senate Executive Board

Wendy Kooken

Associate Professor of Nursing

Faculty Committee on Diversity Representative